Distinguished Contributions to Behavioral Science


Purpose of Award

The Mid-American Association for Behavior Analysis seeks to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to the science of behavior analysis through their research, teaching, and or professional service.


See below for nomination and award selection information.

To support funding dedicated to this award, please                   here.

2020 Winner

Dr. Alyce M. Dickinson
Western Michigan University
Dr. Alyce Dickinson is a professor of psychology and a Fellow of Division 25, Behavior Analysis, of the American Psychological Association. She has been recognized for her work in Organizational Behavior Management by the Organizational Behavior Management Network, receiving their Lifetime Achievement Award in 2012 and their Outstanding Contributions Award in 1995. In 2016, she received an Outstanding Mentor Award from the Student Committee of the Association for Behavior Analysis International, and in 2000, she received a Teaching Excellence Award from Western Michigan University's Alumni Association. In 1982, she co-edited one of the first handbooks that examined the application of behavioral principles to business settings.

Her areas of specialization include management reward systems and organizational systems analysis. Her research focuses on individual and small group monetary incentives, performance feedback, and goal setting.


Beginning in November of each year, the Award committee, composed of the three previous past presidents of MABA will solicit award nominations by (a) posting advertisements on the MABA website and related social media pages, (b) by email to the MABA executive board, and (c) by email to the current MABA membership. Nominations may be made by any current MABA member and will be considered through January. Nominations should consist of a brief synopsis of nominee’s notable accomplishments and contributions to the basic, applied, translational, and/or conceptual analysis of behavior.


Nomination Form


Awardee Selection

The award committee will review nominations and make a recommendation to the executive board for an awardee. Candidates will be considered based upon cumulative accomplishments, with consideration of significant recent contributions, and a history of exemplary presentations at MABA and other conventions; preference will be given to those nominees with professional appointments in the Mid-Western United States. In order to receive the award, recipients must commit to presenting at the upcoming MABA convention.

Previous Winners


Dr. Leonard Green, Washington University in St. Louis

  • Black Facebook Icon