Student Paper Competition

Forrest J. Files Research Award
2020 Competition Still Ocurring!!
See below for details
This award is in honor and remembrance of Dr. Forrest J. Files (1955-2011): Radical Behaviorist, Behavioral Pharmacologist, Teacher, Student, Gator, Friend.
To support student funding dedicated to this award, please                              here.

2019 Winners

Applied Research Winner
Megan Vosters
University of Houston - Clear Lake
Paper Title:
Emergent Completion of Multistep Instructions via Joint Control
Basic Research Winner
Matthew Novak
University of  Kansas
Paper Title:

A Behavioral Economic Evaluation of Cooperation in a Simulated Work Task

Undergraduate and graduate students, or those who are no more than one year post-grad, are encouraged to submit original papers of basic or applied behavior-analytic research. Submissions are reviewed by two or more behavior analysts and 1-2 winners are chosen annually. Each is provided with a monetary award and is invited to give a brief 20-minute presentation on their research during the annual conference.

What papers are eligible for consideration?​​

Original behavior-analytic empirical reports that have either (1) been published over the past year, (2) are in-press or under review, or (3) are submission ready. Theses or dissertations that have not been reformatted for publication elsewhere will not be reviewed.​​

Submissions for 2020 are now being accepted. The deadline for submissions will be October 30, 2020. Submitted papers will be reviewed by our Student Paper Coordinator and selected judges. ​​Winners will be announced publicly on November 30th. 

2020 Winners will be invited to present at the 2021 MABA conference in Detroit, MI with the 2021 Winners!

Prior Recipients

Elizabeth Foley, University of Kansas
Gideon Naude, University of Kansas
Jessica Juanico, Trumpet Behavioral Health
Michael Sofis, University of Kansas
Adam Briggs, University of Nebraska Medical Center's Munroe-Meyer Institute
Amy Henley, University of Kansas
Samantha Bergman, University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
Brent Kaplan, University of Kansas
Amy Harper, University of Kansas
Jason Hirst, University of Kansas
Matt Capriotti, University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
Veronica Howard, University of Kansas
Robin Kuhn, Central Michigan University
  • Black Facebook Icon